Total Package's Blog

Super Bowl Champs 

Back in 1992 the Cowboys only had 6 players who made the Pro Bowl when they won their 1st Super Bowl under Jimmy Johnson and none were from the defense.  And this was a team that was 13-3.  The players were Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, Michael Irvin, Jay Novacek, Nate Newton, and Mark Stepknowski.  The following year they had 11 players from their Super Bowl team.  The players were Troy Aikman, Daryl "Moose" Johnston, Emmitt Smith, Michael Irvin, Jay Novacek, Nate Newton, Mark Stepknowski, Eric Williams, Russell Maryland, Ken Norton, and Thomas Everett.  In 1995, the Cowboys had 10 players from that Super Bowl championship team.  They were Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, Michael Irvin, Jay Novacek, Larry Allen, Nate Newton, Mark Tuinei, Ray Donaldson, Charles Haley, and Darren Woodson.  These were 6, 11, and 10 players respectively from Super Bowl winning Cowboy teams. 

Last 4 years

Now let us compare to Cowboy teams of the last 4 years.  In 2007, the Cowboys had 7 players represent the team.  The players were Tony Romo, Jason Witten, Flozel Adams, Andre Gurode, DeMarcus Ware, Roy Williams (safety), and Matt McBriar.  This is 1 more than the 92 team.  In 2008, the Cowboys had 13 players in the Pro Bowl representing the team and this team had a 13-3 regular season record and lost to the Giants in the divisional playoffs.  The players were Tony Romo, Marion Barber, Terrell Owens, Jason Witten, Flozell Adams, Leonard Davis, Andre Gurode, DeMarcus Ware, Greg Ellis, Terrence Newman, Ken Hamlin, Nick Folk, and Roy Williams (replaced Laundry).  In 2009, the Cowboys had a 9-7 record and had 6 players in the Pro Bowl.  These were Jason Witten, Miles Austin, Leonard Davis, Andre Gurode, DeMarcus Ware, and Jay Ratliff.  But Tony Romo, Terrence Newman, Mike Jenkins made the team due to injuries to other players on the NFC roster which gives them 9 total players.  This year, well everybody knows how poorly the Cowboys played and they have 5 players in the Pro Bowl.  The players are Jason Witten, Andre Gurode, DeMarcus Ware, Jay Ratliff, and Matt McBriar. 

This year's Pro Bowl players from the Cowboys are 1 less than the 1992 Super Bowl championship team.  The fans, coaches, and players currently vote for Pro Bowl players and each group counts for 1/3 of the ballot.  How do the current Cowboy teams have more players in the Pro Bowl than any of the Super Bowl teams of the 90s?  No wonder this guys have a sense of entitlement and think that the only thing have to do is show for the game.

Comment #1 has been removed
December 29, 2010  10:25 AM ET

when you look at it based on past teams, I understand your point. When I look at the individual players, I think a good case could be made that the current players belong.

I don't expect the Cowboys to be in the Superbowl every year and I didn't think they'd make it this year. What I DO expect is for them to play hard every week, leave everything on the field and that they make the playoffs.

December 29, 2010  12:48 PM ET

Very interesting to see five Cowboys selected to the Pro Bowl in such a down season for the club, and even more surprising that all five would be voted as starters.It's not to say any of them weren't deserving. Still, the Cowboys offensive line has been cr...iticized all year, really, and yet Andre Gurode makes his fifth-straight All-Star game, and Jay Ratliff will go to his third in a row despite dramatically reduced production.It's worth noting that no Cowboys, not even Jason Witten, DeMarcus Ware or Mat McBriar, were selected as starters by the fans, who make up a third of the voting block. Instead, all five Cowboys were pushed over the top by the votes of coaches and fellow NFC players, which also share a third of the power each.Fan voting begins shortly after the season begins, while players and coaches didn't vote until last week.When fan voting concluded, starting in place of the Cowboys offensive players who ultimately claimed the top spots were Falcons tight end Tony Gonzalez ...See More
via twitterfeed

December 29, 2010  01:20 PM ET

So do you think it makes the selection more or less legitimate based on coaches and players. I would think that would eliminate the effect of homers and haters.

What's your take on that?

December 29, 2010  01:41 PM ET

So do you think it makes the selection more or less legitimate based on coaches and players. I would think that would eliminate the effect of homers and haters.What's your take on that?

UBP, you make a great point. By having the coaches and players could also produce a new breed of homers and haters, because they can play the role of the fans. A lot of people believe that being in large markets contributes to the effect of homes and haters, because teams from small markets don't get enough national exposure.

I also believe that by having a lot of players selected to the Pro Bowl from 1 team with only 1 playoff victory to show for it is ridiculous. UBP, we're both big Dallas Cowboys fans as anybody out there, but I feel that this plays negatively to the psyche to the current Cowboys team. I believe that individual success should correlate with team success. The only players from this year's squad that should be in the Pro Bowl is McBriar and Witten. And Witten had his share of drops during the 1st half of the season.

December 29, 2010  04:33 PM ET

I agree with you there, that many guys going from a team that played as poorly as the Cowboys did only add to the "perceived" attitude of entitlement from team, management/coaches and owner.


Remember to keep your posts clean. Profanity will get filtered, and offensive comments will be removed.

Start Your Own Blog

Start Now

Truth & Rumors


  1. 1
    Kerr 'absolutely expects' Knicks offer
  2. 2
    No return timetable for Lightning MVP
  3. 3
    Yankees, Mets, Red Sox among Hanrahan hopefuls
  4. 4
    Niners table talks with Kaepernick
  5. 5
    ... So, L.A. will line up for Love and Durant

SI Photos