Tennis  > General Tennis  > Linesman vs Cyclops
January 24, 2010, 02:49 PM
The protocol in the over-ruled call in Roddick-Gonzalez that directly led to the former's winning of the fourth set needs to be changed. The camera showed the ball in but the linesman let loose with a stentorian "out". That upset Gonzalez's rythym and no determined effort was made to return the shot. The umpire said, "Sorry, point, game, set, Roddick".

Not fair...................... I've seen this happen several times now and the protests have been weak to strong. The only time a determination should be made as was done here, is when the shot is a CLEAR winner such as a service ace, and the player cannot reach it. That's what an umpire is for.

Gonzalez got rolled in the fifth 6-2 and that was it. Bad (NO) judgment, bad call!

Comment

Remember to keep your posts clean. Profanity will get filtered, and offensive comments will be removed.


Truth & Rumors

MOST POPULAR

  1. 1
    Clippers, Warriors exchange barbs
    Views
    763
    Comments
    436
  2. 2
    Time to penalize NHL's perennial losers?
    Views
    954
    Comments
    273
  3. 3
    Report: Raiders to release Terrelle Pryor on Monday
    Views
    1276
    Comments
    59
  4. 4
    Will NFL owners blackball Donald Trump?
    Views
    1084
    Comments
    54
  5. 5
    Packers lovers have own dating site
    Views
    979
    Comments
    45

SI.com

SI Photos