For the Record
Views
10409
Comments
55
Santonio Holmes
Santonio Holmes channeled LeBron after his touchdown.
Peter Read Miller/SI

Should the referees have flagged Santonio Holmes for excessive celebration after his game-winning touchdown catch in Super Bowl XLIII?

Mike Periera, the NFL's vice president of officiating, says they should have, according to a USA Today story.

Holmes was deemed by the officials to have had both feet in bounds on his winning 6-yard touchdown reception from Ben Roethlisberger with 0:35 left. The call was upheld on replay review.

But after the play, Holmes did use the ball as a prop when he mimicked basketball star LeBron James' pre-game move of shaking powder onto his hands and tossing the powder in the air. In the NFL, using the ball as a prop calls for a 15-yard excessive celebration penalty.

On the ensuing kickoff, Pittsburgh would have kicked from its 15-yard line instead of the usual 30. Arizona started its final drive at its own 23. Who knows where it might have been had the call been made on Holmes?

"Well, it would have been (called) if we had seen it. It was one of these plays where it happened so far after the play was over," said Pereira.

Do you agree with Pereira? Do you think the officials were employing a flexible interpretation of the rules -- or did they simply forget?

What if ...? NFL VP says Holmes' celebration was a foul [USA Today]

Comment

Remember to keep your posts clean. Profanity will get filtered, and offensive comments will be removed.


Truth & Rumors

MOST POPULAR

  1. 1
    'Melo wants to be wooed (like, Howard wooed)
    Views
    2116
    Comments
    1352
  2. 2
    Farrell defends Fenway's 'sleep room'
    Views
    1976
    Comments
    480
  3. 3
    Cashman scratching his head over Pineda
    Views
    792
    Comments
    347
  4. 4
    Youthful Red Wings are rattled
    Views
    2094
    Comments
    291
  5. 5
    Vogel coaching for his job
    Views
    480
    Comments
    287

SI.com

SI Photos