Truth & Rumors > NFL

Golden Tate: I Pushed Off

Views
2019
Comments
4

07:11 PM ET 09.26 | How does the main culprit of the Monday Night Football controversy see the play? Tate admits that he pushed off but denies any cheating. "I'm not going to deny pushing him," Tate said. "The evidence shows on the film. But like I said, I never had intentions on cheating. I wasn't trying to cheat. I was competing, it was in the moment. Things are happening so quick. I honestly didn't even notice I did. I didn't try to hurt him or push him down to the ground, but it happened. It was so quick. It was just a reaction kind of thing." But does Tate still really believe he caught the ball? In one short word: Yes.

NFL Spin Zone

Golden Tate/Getty Images, Golden Tate/Getty Images,
Comment #1 has been removed
September 27, 2012  06:32 AM ET

It's impossible for him to have made a simultaneous catch. There is indisputable evidence that the Packers receiver was the first to have hands on the ball. He brought it to his chest, he landed with possession, and at no point did he lose possession.

"Simultaneous" means exactly what it sounds like .... both players make contact with the ball the exact the same time, and both players land with both hands on that ball.

Just because Tate got his hands on it in the air, it doesn't matter. The Packers defender was already in the process of claiming sole possession. It doesn't matter how many hands end up on the ball before the play is whistled dead... it matters who touches it first, and whether or not that person completes all of the necessary requirements to make a completion.

The bottom line, GB got robber. It should have been a touchback, GB's ball at their own 20.

And that's not even factoring in the offensive pass interference, which should have ended the play then and there.

Thank god the real refs are coming back next week.

September 27, 2012  01:47 PM ET

Call was correct. Jennings never touched both feet or any of his body after "catching" the ball. Tate has both feet on the ground and has his hands wrapped around the ball along with Jennings, but again since Jennings still hasn't touched the ground with both his feet or a part of his body, by rule he hasn't caught the ball yet, Tate does. Why the so-called "Experts" don't see this is perhaps because we're talking the Packers not the Browns etc.... Proof is there people, the rules are specific. I don't care really care about the PI, that wasn't called and again the so-called "experts" said that always happens and isn't called.

 
September 27, 2012  01:48 PM ET
QUOTE(#2):

It's impossible for him to have made a simultaneous catch. There is indisputable evidence that the Packers receiver was the first to have hands on the ball. He brought it to his chest, he landed with possession, and at no point did he lose possession."Simultaneous" means exactly what it sounds like .... both players make contact with the ball the exact the same time, and both players land with both hands on that ball. Just because Tate got his hands on it in the air, it doesn't matter. The Packers defender was already in the process of claiming sole possession. It doesn't matter how many hands end up on the ball before the play is whistled dead... it matters who touches it first, and whether or not that person completes all of the necessary requirements to make a completion.The bottom line, GB got robber. It should have been a touchback, GB's ball at their own 20. And that's not even factoring in the offensive pass interference, which should have ended the play then and there.Thank god the real refs are coming back next week.

Call was correct. Jennings never touched both feet or any of his body after "catching" the ball. Tate has both feet on the ground and has his hands wrapped around the ball along with Jennings, but again since Jennings still hasn't touched the ground with both his feet or a part of his body, by rule he hasn't caught the ball yet, Tate does. Why the so-called "Experts" don't see this is perhaps because we're talking the Packers not the Browns etc.... Proof is there people, the rules are specific. I don't care really care about the PI, that wasn't called and again the so-called "experts" said that always happens and isn't called.

Comment

Remember to keep your posts clean. Profanity will get filtered, and offensive comments will be removed.


Truth & Rumors

MOST POPULAR

  1. 1
    Clippers, Warriors exchange barbs
    Views
    706
    Comments
    431
  2. 2
    Time to penalize NHL's perennial losers?
    Views
    818
    Comments
    267
  3. 3
    Report: Raiders to release Terrelle Pryor on Monday
    Views
    1210
    Comments
    59
  4. 4
    Will NFL owners blackball Donald Trump?
    Views
    1007
    Comments
    54
  5. 5
    Packers lovers have own dating site
    Views
    934
    Comments
    43

SI.com

SI Photos