Truth & Rumors > MMA

UFC 154 ref explains controversial decision

Views
589
Comments
3

01:03 PM ET 11.20 | Referee Dan Miragliotta believes Alessio Sakara wasn't hitting Patrick Cote with as many illegal punches to the head as people thought at UFC 154. Miragliotta said he issued two verbal warnings before handing out the disqualification. "Even though most of your hand is hitting the back of the head, if your pinkie knuckle is hitting him in the ear, it's a legal shot," said Miragliotta. "Maybe that's what people don't understand. They said, 'Oh, it's the back of the head.' It is the back of the head, but it's hitting him in the ear," Miragliotta said.

MMA Junkie

Patrick Cote, Esther Lin, MMA Fighting Patrick Cote, Esther Lin, MMA Fighting
November 20, 2012  01:19 PM ET

huh?
5 strikes to the back of the head

November 20, 2012  01:33 PM ET

Referee Dan Miragliotta believes Alessio Sakara wasn't hitting Patrick Cote with as many illegal punches to the head as people thought at UFC 154


I guess by people he meant Rogan and Goldberg

 
November 20, 2012  04:01 PM ET

this explanation is whacked.

Comment

Remember to keep your posts clean. Profanity will get filtered, and offensive comments will be removed.


Truth & Rumors

MOST POPULAR

  1. 1
    Bryant headed back to Germany
    Views
    3328
    Comments
    928
  2. 2
    D'Antoni's newest 'blunder'
    Views
    2923
    Comments
    866
  3. 3
    Baseball's top 2015 free agent
    Views
    2523
    Comments
    528
  4. 4
    Shakeup looms for White Sox
    Views
    5279
    Comments
    334
  5. 5
    The NHL's model franchise?
    Views
    2289
    Comments
    140

SI.com

SI Photos