Truth & Rumors > Golf

Drop may disqualify Tiger Woods from Masters

Views
1508
Comments
39

09:07 AM ET 04.13 | Tiger Woods' pursuit of a fifth green jacket may have just gone off the rails. Woods is facing a potential disqualification stemming from a possible rules violation committed on Friday afternoon. After he struck one of the unluckiest shots in his Masters career, an approach on 15 that hit the flagstick and bounced back into the water, Woods dropped a new ball and began playing again. However, it's how he dropped that new ball that's at issue. Stick with us here, this is about to get rules-heavy. When the ball went into the water, Woods had two options: drop the ball in a designated zone, or hit as close as possible to his original location. Here's Woods' quote when asked about the drop: "I went down to the drop area," he said. "That wasn't going to be a good spot, because obviously it's into the grain, it's really grainy there. And it was a little bit wet. So it was muddy and not a good spot to drop. So I went back to where I played it from, but I went two yards further back and I took, tried to take two yards off the shot of what I felt I hit. And that should land me short of the flag and not have it either hit the flag or skip over the back."

Yahoo! Sports

Tiger Woods, Harry How/Getty Images Tiger Woods, Harry How/Getty Images
April 13, 2013  09:43 AM ET

Another moronic move by Eldrick--- how long have you been playing? Open up a rule book Mr Stanford... too busy watching the bimbo's again...

April 13, 2013  10:02 AM ET

TWO-sets of rules---- one for the way the game was designed, one for Eldrick.... Too bad for the PGA today---- they disciplined the 14 year old for slow play--- can't hurt Eldricks feelings...

April 13, 2013  10:02 AM ET

That won't be happening...

April 13, 2013  10:06 AM ET

TWO-sets of rules---- one for the way the game was designed, one for Eldrick.... Too bad for the PGA today---- they disciplined the 14 year old for slow play--- can't hurt Eldricks feelings...

April 13, 2013  10:11 AM ET
QUOTE(#3):

That won't be happening...

Nope - it won't and didn't.

And after reading comments from people like Graeme McDowell, it appears to be the correct ruling although that blowhard Chamblee seems to disagree.

April 13, 2013  10:12 AM ET

Two stroke penalty...no DQ...although I could go for a blizzard!

April 13, 2013  10:17 AM ET
QUOTE(#6):

Two stroke penalty...no DQ...although I could go for a blizzard!

Mmmmmm... Snickers Blizzard....

April 13, 2013  10:21 AM ET
QUOTE(#7):

Mmmmmm... Snickers Blizzard....

Talked me into it...have to take the kids for a little road trip before golf this afternoon.

Comment #9 has been removed
April 13, 2013  10:58 AM ET
QUOTE(#9):

Morning wood report: I got it.

More than I needed to know... But thanks Danny.

Comment #11 has been removed
April 13, 2013  11:27 AM ET

As someone mentioned earlier, it does seem there is a separate set of rules for him. It sounds like the committee knew of the infraction and decided that he didn't do anything wrong until after he admitted it and they could no longer ignore it. That was done for ONE simple motive--ratings. I always thought golf was an honorable sport with people openly admitting when they made mistakes and even DQ'ing themselves when they realized they made an error. I forget who it was but several years ago a player saw something after his round and reported that he had broken a rule and should have been assessed a penalty which meant he signed an incorrect scorecard. I guess that's good for everyone...except Tiger.

Comment #13 has been removed
April 13, 2013  11:50 AM ET

Graeme McDowell @Graeme_McDowell

Take the fact that it was Tiger out of the equation and it is a fair ruling. Since it is him the debate begins about TV ratings etc etc.




Couldn't agree more...

April 13, 2013  12:34 PM ET

Anybody but Tiger and they'd be DQ

April 13, 2013  12:36 PM ET

What other sport allows fans to call in penalties? Consider that golf televises some players more than others, and many others not at all. It's apparent that some players are at a clear disadvantage for call in penalties, so the rule change for unknowingly signing an incorrect score card is understandable.

Besides, the spectator called in the infraction and the committee ruled during play that he was fine. It was only after his post game interview that they re-reviewed the drop and determined he was in error.

Unfortunately for Tiger, he's the first to benefit from the change and it just happens to be on the grandest stage of them all.

April 13, 2013  12:37 PM ET

Not a Tiger fan, but sympathize with him in this instance.

April 13, 2013  12:40 PM ET
QUOTE(#17):

Not a Tiger fan, but sympathize with him in this instance.

But he admitted what he did was against the rules to get a better lie.. so in 'the rules' of the game.. he should have DQ himself

April 13, 2013  12:47 PM ET
QUOTE(#18):

But he admitted what he did was against the rules to get a better lie.. so in 'the rules' of the game.. he should have DQ himself

He did. But he also is able to continue because the card he signed was correct - at the time - as the play had already been reviewed.

He's benefiting from the rule change no doubt. So it's more a matter of his morals vs being forced to disqualify himself.

And really, is anyone surprised by his decision to take advantage of the rule change? They shouldn't be.

 
Comment #20 has been removed

Comment

Remember to keep your posts clean. Profanity will get filtered, and offensive comments will be removed.


Truth & Rumors

MOST POPULAR

  1. 1
    Kerr 'absolutely expects' Knicks offer
    Views
    3289
    Comments
    1435
  2. 2
    Tuukka Rask takes blame for Bruins' Game 1 loss
    Views
    1683
    Comments
    226
  3. 3
    No return timetable for Lightning MVP
    Views
    1692
    Comments
    219
  4. 4
    Yankees, Mets, Red Sox among Hanrahan hopefuls
    Views
    6460
    Comments
    177
  5. 5
    Smush Parker allegedly punches high schooler
    Views
    1391
    Comments
    136

SI.com

SI Photos