Truth & Rumors > NCAAF

Commish: Big Ten official blew pylon call

Views
13008
Comments
31

06:43 AM ET 10.27 | Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany said the decision by a replay official to award Michigan's Brandon Minor with a touchdown against Michigan State on Saturday, overruling the on-field referee's call, was "not acceptable." "The people in the replay booth made a mistake," Delany said while meeting with reporters at the conference's basketball media day Sunday. "It wasn't a mistake of judgment; it was a mistake of an application of the rule. They applied the wrong rule and they applied it improperly." Minor leaped to make a 19-yard catch from Steven Threet and landed out of bounds, causing the on-field referee to rule the play incomplete. The replay official overturned the call, saying Minor's foot hit the pylon. According to NCAA rules, however, an airborne player that touches a pylon is considered out of bounds.

Detroit Free Press

Brandon Minor, AP Brandon Minor, AP

Comment

Remember to keep your posts clean. Profanity will get filtered, and offensive comments will be removed.


Truth & Rumors

MOST POPULAR

  1. 1
    Bryant headed back to Germany
    Views
    3328
    Comments
    928
  2. 2
    D'Antoni's newest 'blunder'
    Views
    2923
    Comments
    866
  3. 3
    Baseball's top 2015 free agent
    Views
    2523
    Comments
    528
  4. 4
    Shakeup looms for White Sox
    Views
    5279
    Comments
    334
  5. 5
    The NHL's model franchise?
    Views
    2289
    Comments
    140

SI.com

SI Photos